Departmental Scholarships for the 2016-2017 Academic Year

Undergraduate scholarships are available for freshmen, transfer students, and U of U continuing students who are majoring or intend to major in Electrical Engineering or Computer Engineering.

In 2015-16, the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering awarded more than $160,000 in scholarships to out students. The College of Engineering also awarded many scholarships to ECE students.

Scholarship Application

Students only need to complete one application to be considered for both departmental and college scholarships. 
The scholarship application deadline for the 2016-2017 will open in November 2016.

Complete the: Online COE Scholarship Application

Students with questions or concerns about scholarships should contact the academic advisor, Alec Down, at

ECE Scholarships (Available for the 2016-2017 Academic Year)


Scholarship NameDescription and Special Requirements
Tuition WaiverRecipients must be Utah residents seeking first bachelors degree.
Robert G. and Mary Jane Engman ScholarshipNo restrictions.
George A. Hanks Memorial ScholarshipMust be U.S. citizens. Only for sophomore, junior, or senior students. “Shall have a minimum GPA of 3.3, a record of good school citizenship, and no prior history of the use or sale of illegal drugs. Preference will be given to nonresident students from Idaho. If no Idaho students qualify, then to any nonresident students.”
Intermountain Power AgencyAt least a sophomore status. Native born Utah resident and/or graduated from a Utah high school. Preference given to those interested in a career within the power systems industry.

Students are required to enroll in a minimum of two (2), preferably three (3), power classes.

Students interested in receiving the IPA scholarship should attach an essay answering the following question: “Are you interested in pursuing a career in the power systems industry? Include a one-page essay stating your personal and professional goals.”

Stephen Karl Endowed Memorial ScholarshipPreference given to nonresidents.
Paul G. Morse Memorial Scholarship“An exceptional student or students who have demonstrated outstanding promise, interest, and academic excellence in the field of Electrical Engineering.”
Lawrence D. Schroder“The most outstanding Junior student”
Richard W. Grow ScholarshipPreference given to freshmen.