From left to right, Assistant Professors Mingyue Ji, Tsung-Wei Huang, Mingxi Liu and Mostafa Sahraei-Ardakani.

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering is proud to announce that four ECE faculty members have received the 2022 National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Program (CAREER) Award. This is the highest number of CAREER awards obtained in a single year by the department. The award is the NSF’s most prestigious grant in support of early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models and lead advances in the mission of their department or organization. The award fosters innovative developments in science and technology, increases awareness of careers in science and engineering, enhances connections between fundamental research and national goals, and highlights the importance of science and technology for the Nation’s future. 

This year’s record number of recipients demonstrates an impressive trend towards excellence in research and education, with the department earning two more awards than last year. The achievement underscores the high relevance and impact of the research happening in the department and indicates its commitment to cultivating innovative ideas. The total reflects the department’s goal of becoming a leading ECE institute and points to the high level of support that each junior faculty receive from mentors and peers.

“This is an exciting accomplishment for our department and a testament to the caliber of our junior faculty. Each awardee is making great strides in their area and critical contributions grounded in hard work and dedication,” said ECE Chair Florian Solzbacher. “Our department is committed to seeking out the brightest and most dedicated group of researchers in this field and fostering growth through compelling intellectual endeavors and creative problem-solving.”

Each faculty member will receive approximately $500,000 over five years, enabling them to develop a strong foundation for a lifetime of leadership in integrating education and research. Their projects will actively engage students and the community, broadening the impact of their research and encouraging community members and students of all levels to participate in STEM research.

Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients, each of whom is a leader in their field, developing cutting-edge solutions to society’s most pressing problems. The following is a list of faculty members who received this year’s award and the name of their project. Click through each to find out about their CAREER project. 

Assistant Professor Mingyue Ji, CAREER: Heterogeneous Elastic Computing over the Cloud – from Theory to Practice

Assistant Professor Mostafa Sahraei-Ardakani, CAREER: Deregulated Market for Flexible Transmission

Assistant Professor Tsung-Wei Huang, CAREER: HeteroTime: Accelerating Static Timing Analysis with Intelligent Heterogeneous Parallelism

Assistant Professor Mingxi Liu, CAREER: Scalable and Secure Control of Distributed Grid-Edge Resources for Enhanced Grid Reliability